Written answers

Wednesday, 19 May 2021

Department of Housing, Planning, and Local Government

Environmental Schemes

Photo of Mary Lou McDonaldMary Lou McDonald (Leader of the Opposition; Dublin Central, Sinn Fein)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

114. To ask the Minister for Housing, Planning, and Local Government the additional policies on supports for urban biodiversity and tree planting introduced by county June 2020 to date in tabular form. [26686/21]

Photo of Malcolm NoonanMalcolm Noonan (Carlow-Kilkenny, Green Party)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

Local authorities across the country carry out vital work in promoting, safeguarding and restoring biodiversity. However, monitoring, reporting and management of data on this work in individual local authority areas is a matter for each Council.

The Local Authority Biodiversity Grant Scheme operated by the National Parks and Wildlife Service of my Department provides funding to assist local authorities with the implementation of projects that promote actions contained in the National Biodiversity Action Plan 2017-2021. The current National Biodiversity Action Plan (NBAP), Ireland’s 3rd, captures the objectives, targets and actions for biodiversity to be undertaken by a wide range of government, civil society and private sectors to achieve Ireland’s vision for biodiversity. A range of projects were supported in 2020, including those tackling invasive alien species, surveying of breeding birds and raising awareness of biodiversity. The breakdown, per Local Authority, is outlined in the table below.

Local Authority 2020
Carlow County Council €7,081.00
Cavan County Council €12,000.00
Clare County Council €30,000.00
Cork City Council €11,008.00
Cork County Council €18,899.00
Donegal County Council €15,671.00
Dublin City Council €33,500.00
Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council €30,650.00
Fingal County Council €18,000.00
Galway City Council €16,039.00
Galway County Council €37,587.00
Kerry County Council €17,140.00
Kildare County Council €16,000.00
Kilkenny County Council €16,000.00
Laois County Council €16,000.00
Leitrim County Council €20,283.00
Limerick City & County Council €39,164.00
Longford County Council €11,921.00
Louth County Council €8,826.00
Mayo County Council €29,700.00
Meath County Council €18,500.00
Monaghan County Council €15,725.00
Offaly County Council €24,000.00
Roscommon County Council €22,400.00
South Dublin County Council €19,130.00
Tipperary County Council €21,464.00
Waterford City & County Council €28,606.00
Westmeath County Council €16,000.00
Wexford County Council €25,198.00
Wicklow County Council €14,300.00
Total €610,792.00


No comments

Log in or join to post a public comment.