Donate now

KildareStreet is supported only by donations from people like you.

This site has served over 1,820,000 people since the 2011 election with zero government or institutional funding.
Please make a monthly or one-off donation to support in the future.

Written answers

Tuesday, 14 February 2012

Department of Health

Ministerial Appointments

9:00 pm

Photo of Shane RossShane Ross (Dublin South, Independent)
Link to this: Individually | In context

Question 664: To ask the Minister for Health if he will list all appointments to State boards and agencies made by him since he came to power; the persons appointed; the boards and agencies to which they have been appointed; the remuneration details of each appointment; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [7824/12]

Photo of James ReillyJames Reilly (Minister, Department of Health; Dublin North, Fine Gael)
Link to this: Individually | In context

Where fees are approved, there are four categories payable to chairpersons and directors of Non-Commercial State Agencies. The "one person one salary" principle provides that public servants acting as chairpersons or directors of state-sponsored bodies do not receive additional remuneration for undertaking such duties. Members of Boards are entitled to claim travel and subsistence as governed by the Travel and Subsistence Circulars issued by the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform. Instead of the fees mentioned above, members of the Hepatitis C and HIV Compensation Tribunal are paid a briefing fee of €17,526 when they take up their appointment and a daily rate of €992.68.

The approved annual rates in respect of those Boards to which I have made appointments and where board fees are payable are:

Category Chair Director

Category Chair Director

1 €29,888 €14,963

2 €20,520 €11,970

3 €11,970 €7,695

4 €8,978 €5,985

The information regarding remuneration for the members detailed below is currently being collated and will be forwarded to the Deputy when finalised. The following Board appointments have been made by me since 9th March 2011:

Pre-Hospital Emergency Care CouncilMaureen CroninOrdinary Member20/04/2011
Health Service ExecutiveBrian GilroyOrdinary Member20/05/2011
Health Service ExecutiveLaverne McGuinnessOrdinary Member20/05/2011
Health Service ExecutivePhilip CrowleyOrdinary Member20/05/2011
Health Service ExecutiveBarry WhiteOrdinary Member20/05/2011
Health Service ExecutiveBairbre Nic AongusaOrdinary Member20/05/2011
Health Service ExecutivePaul BarronOrdinary Member20/05/2011
Health Service ExecutiveTony HolohanOrdinary Member20/05/2011
Health Service ExecutiveMichael ScanlanOrdinary Member20/05/2011
National Haemophilia CouncilAnn GroganOrdinary Member23/05/2011
National Haemophilia CouncilDeborah GreeneOrdinary Member23/05/2011
Health Service ExecutiveMartin ConnorOrdinary Member06/06/2011
Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland CouncilCatriona O'DriscollOrdinary Member15/06/2011
Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland CouncilMichael BarryOrdinary Member15/06/2011
Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland CouncilLeonie ClarkeOrdinary Member15/06/2011
Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland CouncilJean HolohanOrdinary Member15/06/2011
Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland CouncilCiaran O'BoyleOrdinary Member15/06/2011
Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland CouncilFionan O'CuinneagainOrdinary Member15/06/2011
Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland CouncilKenneth McDonaldOrdinary Member15/06/2011
Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland CouncilKeith O'HourihaneOrdinary Member15/06/2011
Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland CouncilJohn David CorrOrdinary Member15/06/2011
Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland CouncilIgnatius Noel StensonOrdinary Member15/06/2011
National Haemophilia CouncilBarry HarringtonChairperson19/07/2011
National Haemophilia CouncilMary JacksonOrdinary Member22/07/2011
Hepatitis C and HIV Compensation TribunalKathryn HuttonOrdinary Member01/08/2011
National Cancer Registry BoardAnna GavinOrdinary Member06/08/2011
National Cancer Registry BoardDonal HollywoodOrdinary Member06/08/2011
National Cancer Registry BoardDeirdre MurrayOrdinary Member06/08/2011
National Cancer Registry BoardMary JacksonOrdinary Member06/08/2011
National Cancer Registry BoardJohn McCormackOrdinary Member06/08/2011
National Cancer Registry BoardPaul RedmondOrdinary Member06/08/2011
National Cancer Registry BoardTony O'BrienChairperson06/08/2011
Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland CouncilFachtna MurphyOrdinary Member26/09/2011
Medical CouncilMichael RyanOrdinary Member04/10/2011
Medical CouncilMarie KehoeOrdinary Member04/10/2011
Irish Blood Transfusion ServiceLelia ThorntonOrdinary Member18/10/2011
Irish Medicines BoardMary HorganOrdinary Member19/10/2011
Health and Social Care Professionals CouncilJenny BulbuliaOrdinary Member24/11/2011
Health and Social Care Professionals CouncilMuiris FitzgeraldOrdinary Member24/11/2011
Health and Social Care Professionals CouncilMartin HigginsOrdinary Member24/11/2011
Health and Social Care Professionals CouncilPat QuinlanOrdinary Member24/11/2011
Health and Social Care Professionals CouncilKristin QuinnOrdinary Member24/11/2011
Tallaght Hospital BoardKeith PearsonChairperson14/12/2011
Tallaght Hospital BoardPeter ByrneOrdinary Member21/12/2011
Tallaght Hospital BoardTom O'HigginsOrdinary Member21/12/2011
Tallaght Hospital BoardDavid PierpointOrdinary Member21/12/2011
Tallaght Hospital BoardPeter PrendergastOrdinary Member21/12/2011
Health Service ExecutiveMichael ScanlanChairperson01/01/2012
Tallaght Hospital BoardRichard ReillyOrdinary Member18/01/2012
Dublin Dental Hospital BoardPat O'BoyleOrdinary Member02/02/2012
St James's Hospital BoardColm BerginOrdinary Member07/02/2012
St James's Hospital BoardSean FarrellOrdinary Member07/02/2012


No comments

Log in or join to post a public comment.