Dáil debates

Friday, 9 December 2011

Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission: Motion


11:00 am

Photo of Paul KehoePaul Kehoe (Minister of State and Government Chief Whip, Department of An Taoiseach; Wexford, Fine Gael)
Link to this: Individually | In context

I move:

That Dáil Éireann, noting that the Government on 1st December, 2011 nominated Mr. Simon O'Brien, Mr. Kieran Fitzgerald and Ms. Carmel Foley for appointment by the President to be members of the Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission and Mr. Simon O'Brien to be its chairperson, recommends, pursuant to section 65(1)(b) of the Garda Síochána Act 2005, that Mr. Simon O'Brien and Mr. Kieran Fitzgerald be appointed and that Ms. Carmel Foley be re-appointed by the President to be members, and Mr. Simon O'Brien to be chairperson, of the Commission.

Question put and agreed to.