Written answers

Wednesday, 24 November 2021

Department of Housing, Planning, and Local Government

National Parks and Wildlife Service

Photo of Carol NolanCarol Nolan (Laois-Offaly, Independent)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

73. To ask the Minister for Housing, Planning, and Local Government if provision is being made or will be made for compensation to be provided to farmers or landowners impacted by having land or property designated under the National Parks and Wildlife Service farm plan scheme; the number of farmers currently taking part in the scheme by county; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [57712/21]

Photo of Malcolm NoonanMalcolm Noonan (Carlow-Kilkenny, Green Party)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

My Department recognises the positive role that appropriate farming can play in addressing the biodiversity decline that has been witnessed in recent decades. The NPWS Farm Plan Scheme operates nationally, supporting various habitats and species by working proactively with landowners to go above and beyond their statutory requirements. The farm plan scheme is not a compensation scheme for abiding by European or national nature legislation.

In 2021, I almost doubled the funding available to the NPWS Farm Plan Scheme to €1.89m, and expect that further farm plans will be implemented in 2022. Those with lands included in designated sites are prioritised for entry.

My Department is working closely with the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine to prioritise entry for farmers with designated lands in the CAP Strategic Plan, from 2023-2027. A breakdown of the number of current NPWS farm plans by county is provided in the table below. Additional plans are currently in development.

Table: Current NPWS Farm Plans by County

County Number
Offaly 1
Dublin 1
Galway and Offaly 1
Laois 3
Louth 1
Mayo and Mayo Sligo Border 1
Waterford 1
Kildare 2
Cavan 3
Leitrim 3
Tipperary 4
Westmeath 3
Kilkenny 4
Limerick 4
Roscommon 4
Wicklow 4
Clare 5
Sligo 11
Cork 10
Wexford 11
Galway 18
Mayo 17
Offaly 13
Kerry 28
Donegal 37


No comments

Log in or join to post a public comment.