Written answers

Tuesday, 12 October 2021

Department of Health

Hospital Facilities

Photo of Gino KennyGino Kenny (Dublin Mid West, People Before Profit Alliance)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

606. To ask the Minister for Health the way in which centres of excellence are constituted in relation to oncology services in public hospitals; the criteria that has to be satisfied before a hospital or health facility is deemed a centre of excellence; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [49666/21]

Photo of Stephen DonnellyStephen Donnelly (Wicklow, Fianna Fail)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

The model of care for hospital cancer treatment is centred on eight Designated Cancer Centres serving a defined population and geographic area. The eight designated cancer centres are Beaumont Hospital, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, St. James’s Hospital, St. Vincent’s University Hospital, Cork University Hospital, University Hospital Waterford, University Hospital Limerick and University Hospital Galway.

Chemotherapy is delivered in 26 hospitals approved for Systemic Anti-Cancer Therapy (SACT). These are the eight Designated Cancer Centres and 18 other hospitals operating on a hub and spoke basis under the planning and supervision of the designated centres. Radiation oncology is provided in the public system in Dublin, Cork, and Galway. Public access to private facilities is available in Waterford and Limerick. Also, arrangements are in place for patients from the North West to be referred to Altnagelvin Area Hospital in Derry for radiation therapy.

The centralisation of specialist servicesinto Designated Cancer Centres aims to optimise patient outcomes, through case volume, multidisciplinary working and infrastructural supports.


No comments

Log in or join to post a public comment.