Written answers

Tuesday, 12 October 2021

Department of Justice and Equality

An Garda Síochána

Photo of Peadar TóibínPeadar Tóibín (Meath West, Aontú)
Link to this: Individually | In context

423. To ask the Tánaiste and Minister for Justice and Equality the number of Garda stations closed in each of the past ten years by county. [49302/21]

Photo of Heather HumphreysHeather Humphreys (Cavan-Monaghan, Fine Gael)
Link to this: Individually | In context

The Deputy will appreciate that the Garda Commissioner is primarily responsible for the effective and efficient use of the resources available to An Garda Síochána, including responsibility for the formulation of proposals in relation to the opening and closing of Garda stations, taking into account crime trends and policing priorities, to ensure that the best possible use is made of these resources.

Further, the programme of replacement and refurbishment of Garda accommodation is progressed by the Garda authorities working in close cooperation with the Office of Public Works, which has responsibility for the provision and maintenance of Garda accommodation. As Minister, I have no direct role in these matters.

I am informed by the Garda authorities that under the Garda Station Rationalisation Programmes of 2012 and 2013, one hundred and thirty nine (139) Garda Stations were closed nationwide. This included Kilmihil Garda Station, Co. Clare which was closed in 2013 but was subsequently reopened in 2015 and Lisseycasey Garda Station, Co Clare which was closed in its place.

Wexford and Kevin Street Garda Stations were also closed, however, they were replaced with new stations.

The Programme for Government 2016 contained a commitment to reopen six Garda Stations on a pilot basis.As part of this programme, the Garda authorities idenified Rush Garda Station, Co. Dublin; Stepaside Garda Station, Co. Dublin; Bawnboy Garda Station, Co. Cavan; Donard Garda Station, Co. Wicklow; Leighlinbridge Garda Station, Co. Carlow; and Ballinspittle Garda Station, Co. Cork as the six stations to be reopened.

To date, An Garda Síochána in conjunction with the OPW has successfully completed the refurbishment of four of the six Garda Stations to be reopened i.e. Donard Garda Station, Co. Wicklow; Ballinspittle Garda Station, Co. Cork; Stepaside Garda Station, Co. Dublin; and Rush Garda Station, Co. Dublin. There are two Garda Stations remaining which will require refurbishment in order to enable them to reopen; Bawnboy, Co. Cavan and Leighlinbridge, Co. Carlow.

The table below provides a breakdown of the stations closed by county as a result of the Garda Station Rationalisation Programmes. As noted above, two further stations were closed in the intervening years and replaced with new stations (Kevin St and Wexford). There have been no additional closures.

County 2012 2013
Carlow 0 1
Cavan 1 4
Clare 1 8
Cork 7 7
Donegal 3 5
Dublin 4 2
Galway 1 10
Kerry 3 9
Kildare 0 3
Kilkenny 0 3
Laois 0 2
Leitrim 2 5
Limerick 2 6
Longford 0 3
Mayo 4 6
Meath 0 2
Monaghan 2 3
Offaly 1 1
Roscommon 3 4
Sligo 1 3
Tipperary 2 5
Waterford 0 2
Westmeath 0 3
Wexford 1 2
Wicklow 0 2
Total 38 101


No comments

Log in or join to post a public comment.