Written answers

Tuesday, 13 October 2020

Department of An Taoiseach

Future of Media Commission

Photo of Dara CallearyDara Calleary (Mayo, Fianna Fail)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

1. To ask the Taoiseach the way in which the membership of the Media Commission was selected; and if a person with local media and news publishing experience will be included in the Commission. [30147/20]

Photo of Paul KehoePaul Kehoe (Wexford, Fine Gael)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

6. To ask the Taoiseach the way in which the members of the Future of Media Commission were selected; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [29336/20]

Photo of Micheál MartinMicheál Martin (Taoiseach, Department of An Taoiseach; Cork South Central, Fianna Fail)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

I propose to take Questions Nos. 1 and 6 together.

On Tuesday 29 September, Government approved the terms of reference and membership of the Future of Media Commission.

In line with the standard approach to establishing a Commission of this nature, members were appointed by Government with regard to the particular mix of skills and experience that the Government considers appropriate to the work of the Commission. The composition of the Commission represents a balanced mix of experts in public service media, independent journalism, social media, new technology platforms, media economics, culture, language, creative content, governance and best international practice.

Professor Brian Mac Craith has been appointed as Chair of the Commission. Other members of the Commission include:

Sinéad Burke, Director of Tilting the Lens, writer and academic active in social media, and member of the Council of State

Alan Rusbridger, Chair of the Steering Committee of the Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism at the University of Oxford, and former Editor-in-Chief of Guardian News and Media

Lynette Fay, freelance broadcaster (broadcasting as Gaeilge and in English on BBC Radio Ulster) with an academic background in applied communications

Nuala O’Connor, co-founder of South Wind Blows, writer and documentary film-maker in the areas of music and the Arts

Gillian Doyle, Professor of Media Economics (Theatre, Film and Television Studies), University of Glasgow

Mark Little, CEO and co-Founder of Kinzen. Founder of social news agency, Storyful

Stephen McNamara, Director of Communications, Irish Rugby Football Union

Dr Finola Doyle-O’Neill, Broadcast Historian, University College Cork

The names of two further members with relevant expertise will, subject to their availability, be announced shortly.

The Commission has been constituted as an expert group, rather than a stakeholders’ representative body. Members have a broad range of expertise and experience as journalists and/or academics in broadcast, print and online media at national and international level, including at senior editorial level.

It is envisaged that the Commission will have extensive engagement with key stakeholders, including journalists and their representatives, publishers, regional media, and the wider public to inform its deliberations.


No comments

Log in or join to post a public comment.