Written answers

Friday, 7 September 2018

Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport

Harbours and Piers

Photo of Maureen O'SullivanMaureen O'Sullivan (Dublin Central, Independent)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

1142. To ask the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport the timeline for the transfer of Dún Laoghaire harbour to Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council; the directors of the harbour company; and the date each directorship expires. [36897/18]

Photo of Shane RossShane Ross (Dublin Rathdown, Independent)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

Dun Laoghaire Harbour Company (DLHC) is designated under National Ports Policy 2013 to transfer to Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council (DLRCoCo). 

The Chief Executive of DLRCoCo undertook due diligence of the port company in preparation for transfer and presented her report to the Council on 9 January 2017. The CE then presented a further risk assessment report to the DLR Council at a Special Meeting held on 6 March 2018. At that meeting, the CE and the Council concluded that the most appropriate method of transfer for the company is the transfer and dissolution method.

I subsequently wrote to the CE DLRCoCo on 29 March 2018 to confirm the model of transfer as that of the dissolution of the company and the transfer of all assets, employees and liabilities to the Council on the date of transfer. This is in line with the expressed preference of the CE and Council that the port will operate as part of the local authority structure. Issues raised in relation to the risk assessment were then clarified at meetings that took place between the relevant officials after that date.

I gave my consent to the transfer on 11 July and Minister/PER (as a Shareholder) gave his consent on 17 July and signed the Order for transfer. The Order was then sent to the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government in mid July. 

The current Board of Directors is as outlined below:

Ms Eithne Scott Lennon (Chair)Expiry of term  23 September 2018

Mr Mark Finan Expiry of term  11 February 2019

Mr James JordanExpiry of term  11 February 2019

Mr Gerry Dunne CEOEx–officio


No comments

Log in or join to post a public comment.