Written answers

Tuesday, 5 December 2017

Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport

Road Network

Photo of Tony McLoughlinTony McLoughlin (Sligo-Leitrim, Fine Gael)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

447. To ask the Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport the reason Transport Infrastructure Ireland plans to increase the speed limit in Rathcormac village, County Sligo from 50 km per hour to 60 km per hour in view of the fact that traffic calming measures are currently being introduced in the village by Sligo County Council; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [51629/17]

Photo of Shane RossShane Ross (Dublin Rathdown, Independent)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

I believe the road at Rathcormac village in County Sligo the Deputy is referring to is the N15. With regard to speed limits on national roads, the application of Special Speed Limits, i.e. speed limits other than the default speed limits, are provided for in Section 9 of the Road Traffic Act 2004, which gives local authorities the power to make bye-laws ("special speed limit bye-laws") in respect of any specified public road or specified part of a public road or specified carriageway or lane of a public road within its administrative area. 

The 2004 Act also states that a county council or city council shall not make bye-laws relating to a national road or a motorway without the prior written consent of the National Roads Authority (now Transport Infrastructure Ireland or TII).

Noting the above position, I have referred the Deputy's question to TII for direct reply. Please advise my private office if you don't receive a reply within 10 working days.


No comments

Log in or join to post a public comment.