Written answers

Tuesday, 21 February 2012

Department of Education and Skills

Vocational Education Committees

9:00 pm

Photo of Seán Ó FearghaílSeán Ó Fearghaíl (Kildare South, Fianna Fail)
Link to this: Individually | In context

Question 218: To ask the Minister for Education and Skills the number of executives and administration staff in each of the 33 vocational education committee head offices; if he would list these by grade, that is CEO, EO, AEO, PO, APO, VII and so on; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [9237/12]

Photo of Ruairi QuinnRuairi Quinn (Minister, Department of Education and Skills; Dublin South East, Labour)
Link to this: Individually | In context

My Department monitors the total number of executive and administrative staff posts in vocational education committees, where such posts are funded from my Department's pay funding allocation. These figures are used for the purposes of the public sector number returns and to monitor the employment control framework in the VEC sector.

The table below outlines the executive and administrative staffing numbers for each VEC as of 30th September 2011, the most recent date for which full figures for the sector are available.

There is a total of 824 whole time equivalent (WTE) staff for this category. This figure includes administrative staff employed in Further Education programmes (e.g. VTOS, Youthreach), who may be located either in VEC head offices or centres for education. Of the 824 WTE staff, 163 WTEs are employed in such Further Education programmes. Administrative staff located in VEC post-primary schools are not included in the figures.

(as at 30-9-11)
(ref: PQ 9237 21-2-12)
VECWTE staff
City of Cork30.1
City of Dublin94.1
City of Limerick20.6
City of Waterford16.5
Dun Laoghaire18.6
City of Galway19.1
Co Carlow17.3
Co Cavan15.8
Co Clare26.8
Co Cork41.3
Co Donegal38.0
Co Dublin63.5
Co Galway38.2
Co Kerry32.3
Co Kildare22.6
Co Kilkenny17.3
Co Laois14.9
Co Leitrim7.6
Co Limerick27.0
Co Longford14.5
Co Louth20.1
Co Mayo20.0
Co Meath21.1
Co Monaghan16.6
Co Offaly17.4
Co Roscommon10.2
Co Sligo13.9
Co Tipperary (NR)19.1
Co Tipperary (SR)15.0
Co Waterford12.6
Co Westmeath22.8
Co Wexford31.4
Co Wicklow28.5


No comments

Log in or join to post a public comment.