Written answers

Tuesday, 1 December 2009

Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government

Nuclear Safety

12:00 pm

Photo of Phil HoganPhil Hogan (Carlow-Kilkenny, Fine Gael)
Link to this: Individually | In context

Question 286: To ask the Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government the number of times the EU High Level Regulators Group relating to nuclear safety has met since its establishment. [44101/09]

Photo of John GormleyJohn Gormley (Dublin South East, Green Party)
Link to this: Individually | In context

The European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group (ENSREG) was established by the European Commission in July 2007. The Group is composed of senior officials from national regulatory or nuclear safety authorities. Ireland is represented on ENSREG by Dr Ann Mc Garry, CEO of the Radiological Protection Institute of Ireland (RPII), Dr Tom Ryan, Director of Regulatory Services at the RPII and other RPII staff members as appropriate.

The aim of the Group is to develop common understanding and reinforce common approaches in the fields of nuclear safety and waste management as well as to advise the Commission in this regard. The fundamental principle of ENSREG's work is that there should be continuous improvement in nuclear safety.

ENSREG has established three working groups to undertake its work programme. Working Group 3, which is responsible for improvements on transparency arrangements, is chaired by Dr Ann Mc Garry. The working groups meet as necessary and report back to ENSREG, which meets at least twice a year. To date ENSREG has met in plenary session on ten occasions.

12 October 200707 November 2008
11 January 200814 January 2009
21 April 200815 April 2009
30 May 200802 July 2009
15 October 200828 October 2009

ENSREG presented its first report to the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union on 17 July 2009. This report is available on the website of the European Union, http://ec.europa.eu/energy/nuclear/ensreg/ensreg_en.htm .


No comments

Log in or join to post a public comment.