Seanad debates

Thursday, 12 July 2012

12:00 pm

Photo of Maurice CumminsMaurice Cummins (Fine Gael)
Link to this: Individually | In context

I move:

(1) That, notwithstanding anything in the Standing Orders relative to Public Business, on Friday, 13th July, 2012 the Seanad shall meet at 10 a.m. and the following arrangements shall apply:

(a)Standing Orders 29 and 30 shall stand suspended;

(b) there shall be no Order of Business.

( c ) the business to be taken shall be confined to the second stage debate of the Public Service Pensions (Single Scheme and Other Provisions) Bill 2011 which shall conclude no later than 12.30 p.m.; the contribution of a Group Spokesperson shall not exceed 8 minutes and the contribution of every other Senator shall not exceed 5 minutes and the Minister shall be called to reply no later than 12.20 p.m. No other business shall be taken unless the Seanad shall otherwise order on motion made by the Leader of the House or such other Senator as he may authorise in that behalf.".

Question put.

The Seanad divided by electronic means.

Photo of David NorrisDavid Norris (Independent)
Link to this: Individually | In context

Under Standing Order 62(3)(b) I request that the division be taken again other than by electronic means.

Question put:

The Seanad Divided:

For the motion: 33 (Ivana Bacik, Paul Bradford, Terry Brennan, Colm Burke, Deirdre Clune, Eamonn Coghlan, Paul Coghlan, Michael Comiskey, Martin Conway, Maurice Cummins, Jim D'Arcy, Michael D'Arcy, John Gilroy, Jimmy Harte, Aideen Hayden, Fidelma Healy Eames, Imelda Henry, Lorraine Higgins, Caít Keane, John Kelly, Marie Maloney, Mary Moran, Tony Mulcahy, Rónán Mullen, Michael Mullins, Catherine Noone, Marie Louise O'Donnell, Susan O'Keeffe, Pat O'Neill, Tom Shehan, Jillian van Turnhout, John Whelan, Katherine Zappone)

Against the motion: 16 (Sean Barrett, Thomas Byrne, David Cullinane, Mark Daly, Terry Leyden, Marc MacSharry, Paschal Mooney, David Norris, Darragh O'Brien, Ned O'Sullivan, Labhrás Ó Murchú, Averil Power, Feargal Quinn, Kathryn Reilly, Jim Walsh, Mary White)

Tellers: Tá, Senators Paul Coghlan and Susan O'Keeffe; Níl, Senators David Norris and Feargal Quinn.

Question declared carried.