Dáil debates

Wednesday, 18 December 2019

Section 39 Organisations: Motion (Resumed) [Private Members]


The following motion was moved by Deputy Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin on Tuesday, 17 December 2019:

Debate resumed on amendment No. 1:

- (Minister of State at the Department of Health)

7:15 pm

Photo of Pat GallagherPat Gallagher (Donegal, Fianna Fail)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

I must now deal with a postponed division relating to the motion regarding section 39 organisations. On Tuesday, 17 December 2019, on the question that the amendment to the motion be agreed to, a division was claimed and in accordance with Standing Order 70(2), that division must be taken now.

Amendment put:

The Dáil divided: Tá, 38; Níl, 76; Staon, 0.

Tellers: Tá, Deputies Seán Kyne and Tony McLoughlin; Níl, Deputies Aengus Ó Snodaigh and Denise Mitchell.

Maria Bailey, Pat Breen, Colm Brophy, Richard Bruton, Peter Burke, Seán Canney, Ciarán Cannon, Joe Carey, Marcella Corcoran Kennedy, Michael Creed, Michael D'Arcy, John Deasy, Pat Deering, Regina Doherty, Paschal Donohoe, Andrew Doyle, Bernard Durkan, Alan Farrell, Charles Flanagan, Brendan Griffin, Martin Heydon, Heather Humphreys, Paul Kehoe, Seán Kyne, Michael Lowry, Joe McHugh, Tony McLoughlin, Mary Mitchell O'Connor, Eoghan Murphy, Hildegarde Naughton, Tom Neville, Michael Noonan, Kate O'Connell, Fergus O'Dowd, John Paul Phelan, Michael Ring, Noel Rock, Leo Varadkar.


Bobby Aylward, Mick Barry, Richard Boyd Barrett, John Brady, John Brassil, Declan Breathnach, Tommy Broughan, James Browne, Pat Buckley, Joan Burton, Mary Butler, Malcolm Byrne, Thomas Byrne, Jackie Cahill, Dara Calleary, Pat Casey, Shane Cassells, Jack Chambers, Niall Collins, Barry Cowen, Seán Crowe, David Cullinane, John Curran, Pearse Doherty, Stephen Donnelly, Timmy Dooley, Dessie Ellis, Martin Ferris, Michael Fitzmaurice, Seán Fleming, Kathleen Funchion, Michael Harty, Seán Haughey, Séamus Healy, Brendan Howlin, Gino Kenny, Martin Kenny, John Lahart, Catherine Martin, Micheál Martin, Charlie McConalogue, Michael McGrath, Denise Mitchell, Aindrias Moynihan, Michael Moynihan, Imelda Munster, Margaret Murphy O'Mahony, Catherine Murphy, Eugene Murphy, Paul Murphy, Denis Naughten, Darragh O'Brien, Joe O'Brien, Jonathan O'Brien, Kevin O'Keeffe, Jan O'Sullivan, Maureen O'Sullivan, Pádraig O'Sullivan, Eoin Ó Broin, Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin, Éamon Ó Cuív, Aengus Ó Snodaigh, Willie Penrose, Thomas Pringle, Maurice Quinlivan, Brendan Ryan, Eamon Ryan, Eamon Scanlon, Seán Sherlock, Róisín Shortall, Brendan Smith, Bríd Smith, Brian Stanley, Peadar Tóibín, Robert Troy, Mark Ward.

Amendment declared lost.

7:25 pm

Photo of Stephen DonnellyStephen Donnelly (Wicklow, Fianna Fail)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

I move amendment No. 2:

To insert the following after “that full pay restoration for these workers must be delivered as a priority.”: “— the strengthening, by the Government, of the linkages between acute and hospice care, in light of the complementarity of services provided where appropriate;

— the recognition, by the Government, of the critical role played by Section 39 hospice organisations such as Marymount Hospice, including the unsustainable financial position being forced on Section 39 hospices due to unequal pay terms; and

— the provision, by the Government, of sufficient funding to Section 39 hospices such that their local fundraising efforts can be directed to capital investment, and therefor not required for normal operating expenses.”

Amendment agreed to.

Motion, as amended, agreed to.