Dáil debates

Tuesday, 12 March 2013

4:10 pm

Photo of Michael KittMichael Kitt (Galway East, Fianna Fail)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 27A and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputy Gerald Nash - the need to discuss the treatment abroad scheme, specifically in regard to covering the travel, accommodation and baggage costs of travelling companions for patients who are unable to travel alone, because under present guidelines accommodation and baggage costs are not catered for; (2) Deputy Aengus Ó Snodaigh - the right of part-time firefighters to be entitled to social welfare payments; (3) Deputy Dan Neville - the need for a bypass for Adare, County Limerick; (4) Deputy Michelle Mulherin - the need to direct EirGrid to implement smart-grid technology solutions as a pilot project to stretch the network capacity and minimise constraints in north Mayo and to facilitate the number of wind and biomass electricity generating projects; (5) Deputy Paul J. Connaughton - the future of mental health services in Galway, with special reference to 24-hour facilities and Toghermore House in Tuam, County Galway; (6) Deputy Thomas P. Broughan - the need for the Minister for Justice and Equality to report to Dáil Éireann on whether any evidence about the Stardust disaster of 1981 was withdrawn before the publication of the 2009 Coffey report into the tragedy, which resulted in the deaths of 48 young people, to comment on the significant change made to paragraph 5.13 from the initial report of Mr. Paul Coffey S.C. of 10 December 2008 to the version of the Coffey report published on 7 January 2009, to reconsider the need for a new commission of investigation into the Stardust tragedy, and to make a statement on the matter; (7) Deputy Denis Naughten - the need for the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine to outline his position on European Commission proposals on reform of the single farm payment and CAP in advance of the European Council meeting of 18 and 19 March; (8) Deputy Michael Creed - the need for labour market activation initiatives for parents returning to the workforce after a period in the home raising children; (9) Deputy Jonathan O'Brien - the need for the Minister to outline the effect of budget 2013 on the school completion programme; (10) Deputy Catherine Murphy - the delays experienced by patients when waiting for an appointment with ear, nose and throat specialists; (11) Deputy Brian Stanley - the criticism of the accuracy of the Revenue Commissioners' estimated value of homes for the property tax; (12) Deputy Clare Daly - the High Court action taken over the weekend by a maternity hospital to compel a woman to have a caesarean section; (13) Deputy Gerry Adams - the plans by the HSE to cut ambulance cover in Drogheda; (14) Deputy Aodhán Ó Ríordáin - the restrictions announced by the HSE Beechpark Services for autistic children in North Dublin; (15) Deputy Mattie McGrath - the closure of Slí Eile, the only HSE-run acquired brain injury unit in the south east region, based in Clonmel, without any consultation with staff or service users; (16) Deputy Joan Collins - the failure of the IBRC liquidator to meet with the IBOA and bank workers; (17) Deputy Brendan Smith - the need for the Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources to discuss what steps the Government has taken to tackle fuel poverty in Ireland in light of the European fuel poverty conference taking place in Dublin today; (18) Deputy Mick Wallace - the need to discuss concerns about the lack of accuracy in the Revenue Commissioners' online guide to the new property tax; (19) Deputy Billy Kelleher - the need for services for children needing cochlear implants; and (20) Deputy Dessie Ellis - the need for measures to deal with street harassment in public, particularly of a sexual or threatening nature, as highlighted by the global Hollaback! movement.

The matters raised by Deputies Creed, O'Brien, Ó Ríordáin and Kelleher have been selected for discussion.