Dáil debates

Tuesday, 18 December 2012

3:40 pm

Photo of Michael KittMichael Kitt (Galway East, Fianna Fail)
Link to this: Individually | In context | Oireachtas source

I wish to advise the House of the following matters in respect of which notice has been given under Standing Order 27A and the name of the Member in each case: (1) Deputy Derek Keating - the increased incidence of tuberculosis throughout Dublin city and county; (2) Deputies Michael McNamara, Clare Daly and Martin Ferris - the need to protect the public interest in the event of the sale of Coillte forests; (3) Deputy Simon Harris - the lack of primary school places available in Greystones and Kilcoole, County Wicklow; (4) Deputy Brendan Griffin - the problems with the Student Universal Support Ireland, SUSI, higher education grants system; (5) Deputy Shane Ross - the proposed closure of the Stepaside Garda station, County Dublin; (6) Deputy Maureen O'Sullivan - the need to respond to the increase in homeless numbers from the recent sleeping rough count; (7) Deputy Éamon Ó Cuív - policy on rural policing and urban community policing in view of the closure of rural stations and the reduction in the number of gardaí in urban areas; (8) Deputy Jonathan O'Brien - the effects of the increase in the pupil-teacher ratio from 17:1 to 19:1; (9) Deputy Michael P. Kitt - the closure of the residential centre of Toghermore House, Tuam, County Galway; (10) Deputy Charles Flanagan - the need to address the high costs associated with the inter-country adoption of children; (11) Deputy Colm Keaveney - the proposed closure of the residential unit on Toghermore mental health campus, Tuam, County Galway; (12) Deputy Noel Harrington - the need to provide adequate broadband speeds in all areas of the country; (13) Deputy Brian Stanley - the recent report of the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government on the threat posed by Sellafield; (14) Deputy Seán Kyne - the need to reform the way Irish is taught in schools; (15) Deputy Mattie McGrath - the need to debate the McCrystal judgment handed down by the Supreme Court last week; (16) Deputy Joe McHugh - Irish culture and bullying in Irish society; (17) Deputy Mick Wallace - the announcement of a grant scheme to assist with the repair of septic tanks; (18) Deputy Dessie Ellis - the implications of cuts to St. Michael's House national school, Ballymun, Dublin; and (19) Deputy Niall Collins - the foiled attempt by the Continuity IRA to murder a British soldier in Limerick.

The matters raised by Deputies Charles Flanagan, Niall Collins, Michael McNamara, Clare Daly, Martin Ferris and Seán Kyne have been selected for discussion.