Seanad debates

Wednesday, 15 December 2004

Road Traffic Bill 2004: Report and Final Stages.


12:00 pm

Photo of Paddy BurkePaddy Burke (Fine Gael)

I thank the Minister of State for the way he dealt with this important Bill and for the great insight he gave us into all aspects of it. Four main speed limits will be put in place as a result of the enactment of this legislation as follows: the 50 km/h which will replace the 30 mph limit; the new 80 km/h limit; the 100 km/h which will replace the existing 60 mph limit on national primary and secondary routes; and the 120 km/h limit which will replace the 70 mph limit on motorways. These new limits will prove extremely confusing for motorists whose speedometers have not been converted to kilometres per hour.


No comments

Log in or join to post a public comment.